top of page

2016 Steelhead Adventure!


Because my regular steelhead fishing mate couldn't make it this year and I don't want to fish all by myself in BC, I joined another group of Dutch anglers that wanted to fish their 1st week at steelhead and the 2nd week at Rainbow trout that are preying behind the spawning Sockeyes.

The group consisted of nine anglers and was again divided into 3 subgroups of every three anglers. I know too many anglers.

I would be the first week with my pontoons scanning the river and looking for places where the rest could never come. That was a good decision. The group in total managed 17 steelheads to hook of which 11 were landed. I hooked 8 and landed 6 of them so I am therefore quite happy. In addition, I also caught some coho salmon. 5 of the remaining 8 anglers did not caught steelhead and 4 of them even had any of them bite. I think my experience surely payed off!!. Some of them were also not quite prepared well in my opinion.

The 2nd week on trout was not really my kind of fishing.

Due to the absence of the sockeye, there were not that much rainbows either and only at just a few spots where they all wanted to fish. To many anglers combat fishing so I chose for other quite places but unfortunately without large numbers of trout. Some of the other anglers caught some nice rainbow trout and that made the lack of steelhead a little acceptable

Die week werd doorgebracht in Houston inhet noordwesten van BC, nabij de Morice River. De 2 week verhuisden we naar de Shuswap. Helaas schitterde de sockeye door afwezigheid en daardoor was de forel ook niet echt in grote aantallen aanwezig. Sommige hebben er wel een paar mooie regenbogen tot zo'n 60cm kunnen vangen maar de plekken waar dat gebeurde waren helaas beperkt en men stond daar soms met 6 man naast elkaar! En dat is echt niet zo mijn ding! Dus mijn visserij aldaar was minimaal en op mindere maar rustige plekken. Al met al ben ik best tevreden over de 1e week en wat minder over de 2 week. Wel weet ik nu zeker dat ik daar nooit meer in zo'n groot gezelschap heen ga. 4 man is voor mij echt meer dan zat en zo kunnen de kosten voor accommodatie, transport etc. ook goed verdeeld worden. Weer een jaartje sparen, want volgend jaar ga ik weer!

Uitgelichte berichten
Recente berichten
Archief
Zoeken op tags
Volg ons
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page